Could It Be…

Could it be that all the typos I encounter are not my fault?
At one point in my life I was a very good and very fast typist (clocked in at 125 wpm in a classroom typing test). But since becoming an indie author, I’ve found my typing has become terrible. It’s still fast, but I find a lot of weird mistakes and  often wondered if senility was encroaching on me far too soon…

Until earlier this week. I was sitting working on my laptop (using Word 2013), and while I don’t remember what the sentence I was typing said exactly, I do know it contained the words ‘to need.’ I typed them and the words that followed them, and was sitting there looking at the screen as I considered changing something when I saw the words ‘to need’ merge and form the word ‘toned.’ ‘Toned’ was in no way, shape or form the word I wanted.

I thought this was some weird glitch until the next day when I typed ‘with her.’ As with ‘to need,’ within moments ‘with her’ had changed itself into ‘wither.’

What is going on here?

I did some checking and found a suggestion of turning off the autocorrect. The problem with that was when it is off, it does not give you that squiggly line to let you know something is wrong; I deliberately made some mistakes which remained unheralded by a Word warning.  So I turned it back on because I do want that warning for those times when I’m not deliberately messing things up.

I still haven’t found a solution and probably won’t. Unless it turns out I have a defective Word program or a haunted laptop, I’m writing this as a warning to anyone else who has encountered strange words in their work lest they conclude, as I did briefly, that their mind is going and they better write faster than ever before they turn into something that only takes up space. It seems that at least some errors are not our fault.

My last post, as I recall, was on some of the helpful tricks Word can do for you. But this new trick of Word is something we can all live without.

 

One thought on “Could It Be…

Leave a Reply

